The Wizard of Oz was based on one of a series of books about Oz

Fun Fact!

I found out not too long ago that the "The Wizard of Oz" was based on a mere portion of a series of books authored by L. Frank Baum starting with "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz" written in 1900.

I had NO idea that there were multiple books written from different character perspectives!

The version we all know and love is based on book #1. However, as you can see below, there are books written from other perspectives as well!

1. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)
2. The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904)
3. Ozma of Oz (1907)
4. Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)
5. The Road to Oz (1909)
6. The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
7. The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
8. Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
9. The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
10. Rinktink in Oz (1916)
11. The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
12. The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)
13. The Magic of Oz (1919)
14. Glinda of Oz (1920)
15. The Royal Book of Oz (1920

It was news to me, it may be news to you too!

Alethea Anderson

No comments:

Post a Comment